I talk too much

So, this is something I have been aware of for a long time. Unfortunately, it’s just part of who I am and as much as I take heat when boundaries are crossed, it will not change who I am. I have learned throughout the years when to remain silent, and I am very respectful of others.

Just like someone who feels as though they are too quiet, this is my personality defect.

In defense of those who tend to talk instead of remain silent I want to clear up a few misconceptions.

  1. I am paying very close attention.
  2. I listen. In fact, I listen very well.
  3. I think out loud.
  4. It isn’t that I like to hear myself talk.
  5. I feel compelled to share thoughts, experiences, and laughter with others.
  6. This conflicts with people who need or prefer silence.
  7. I am not self-obsessed. Just open.
  8. It is just one form of open communication, which I require to do my job well.
  9. I can relate to most people this way, and connect on a personal level.
  10. I am nervous, just like you. If we can laugh together, things are better for all of us.
  11. I know when to shut-up. Ok, most of the time…

When you work in a profession that requires you to break the ice with a stranger, daily and on a regular basis, you learn what works best for you. My way of navigating this otherwise, very uncomfortable environment, is to talk. When I open up, others will understand that this process is intended to engage them, so I can find out what their needs are. When I know a little about who you are, and what you like, then I can make you happy with your hair. I will continually put myself out there, on the front line, so you know I am not judging you. I am open to whoever you are, whatever you like, and can most likely help you meet your goals through connecting.

It’s all about connecting.

Leave a Reply

